Visiting Hogwarts

A few weeks ago I won a ticket to be a visiting muggle to the Hogwarts. Of course, Harry Potter  – the boy who lived – has long graduated from the school so I didn’t meet him, but still the visit was really interesting. I was granted permission to publish some public photos of the school that I gladly share with you in this post. So muggles, please join me in a quick tour of the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry!

My journey to Hogwarts begins in this rotunda. There were doors at all sides of the rotunda, and if I pick the right door I should be able to find the Fat Lady painting.

Luckily, I found the right door that led me to the Fat Lady painting. I was given a secret password that sadly I can’t share with you. But I’m sure you know that if you have the Felix Felicis liquid, you should be able to make me tell you what the password was.

Yes, the password worked! The Fat Lady swung her picture backward so I could enter the Gryfindor’s Common Room. What you see above is one section of the Common Room. And oh, if you wonder what happen to the guy over there, yes, I think he was under Petrificus Totalus done by a prankster.

I was then led to the stairs, which surprisingly looked very modern. I was told that they are not going to reveal 100 percent of what Hogwarts looks like, so I guess they put a charm on the stairs to make it look like this.

Now let’s tour the 4 student houses in Hogwarts.

Look at those students entering the Gryfindor’s House! As I expected, out of the 4 dormitories in Hogwarts, the Gryfindor was the most alive!

This was one side of the entrance to the Hufflepuff House. By the way, those are brooms… which to the muggle eyes appeared as bicycles.

The next picture shows you one of the yards inside the Ravenclaw House. If you wonder where the students were, well… remember that the Ravenclaws tend to be academically motivated and talented students (the Sorting Hat almost assigned Hermione to the Ravenclaw because of this reason). Ravenclaw House prizes learning, wisdom, and intellect in its members. Thus, you can easily guess that the Ravenclaws are either in the library, labs, or in their classes – studying diligently.

For some reasons, I couldn’t enter the Slytherin House. I guess the dark spell was too strong for me. This was one of the entrances.

Other things I spotted at the school:

Hear No Lies. Tell No Lies.
Dolores Umbridge: Please, tell them I mean no harm.
Harry Potter: Sorry, Professor, but I must not tell lies.

Various kinds of Coat of Arms displayed on Hogwart’s wall.
Motto:
Draco Dormiens Nunquam Titillandus
(Never Tickle a Sleeping Dragon).

Below is the entrance to the Defense Against the Dark Arts classroom.

Next picture shows you the students entering the Muggle Studies classroom. They all dressed as muggles in this subject.
This shoe below belongs to a statue. Wonder why it was shiny? Turned out it was a portkey!
I rubbed the portkey and here I was, suddenly transported to Holland!
Crap, now I have to find the portkey to go back to Hogwarts!
The next picture was the location where I landed back from Holland. They no longer put me inside Hogwarts.

I guess this was the end of my magical tour.
Oh, in case you wonder, we the muggles called this school as Yale. But now you know that Yale is really… a Hogwarts!

***

4 thoughts on “Visiting Hogwarts

Leave a Reply

