Street Signs I Want to Steal

Okay, let me make it clear that I am not planning to steal any street sign (yes, call me chicken if you wish). I just want to share another connection that I found between Den Haag, the city that I love, and Albany, the city where I’m living right now. They both have a street with my name!

As you’ve probably guessed, they’re not major streets. But still, isn’t fun when you bumped into a random street that bears your name? I found it cool!🙂

Chrysantplein in Den Haag

This photo shows the street sign with my first name. Chrysantplein (Chrysant square) was first spotted by my hubby (then a friend), who was biking to Kijkduin to visit his friend. He was excited to let me know about this street, and in summer 2006 we went there together to take photos.

Summer 2011, in Albany New York. Look what I’ve found:

Lily Street in Albany, New York

It’s the street with my middle name, Lily! It’s a very small street that actually ends in a cul-de-sac, located in a quiet residential area. So quiet that for a moment I was thinking whether I should come back another time with stairs and screwdrivers!🙂

But I’m sure that both the city of Albany and Den Haag do not suffer much from stolen street signs… Not as much as this village in Austria that has such a striking name for English-speaking tourists :D:

Fucking, a town in Austria. One of the most commonly stolen street signs.

(This last photo was taken from Wikipedia‘s interesting entry about Street Sign Theft).

4 thoughts on “Street Signs I Want to Steal

Leave a Reply

