Should you Care about People’s Checklist?

Sunny Sunday afternoon, 14:30 in my room.

I was trying hard to put all concepts from Amrita in my head for 4205 exam tomorrow.

I thought that I deserve a break, so as usual… my coping mechanism to avoid the stress is by sleepingšŸ˜€ Well, I guess that’s better. I mean, my friend’s coping mechanism is shopping. That must be costly! Sleeping is something that you can enjoy for free, and it’s refreshingšŸ™‚ As long as you don’t oversleep, I guess.

Well, anyway… talking about sleeping, I wanted to tell you about my sleeping gadget: it’s called guling in IndonesiašŸ™‚ It’s one of those long pillows that you can actually hug while you’re sleeping. I’m so used to sleeping with it, that I often can’t have a good sleep without it. I knew that in Holland I’d be in trouble because I don’t think people here use it (I guess in the old time Dutch people were only interested in Indonesian culinary, spices and all, but not guling hehe…).

So you know what I decided to do? I decided to pack a guling to Holland! You might think that it’s such a waste of space, because you only have 33kg to carry in your luggage. But hey, let me tell you the trick: buy a new guling that are made from polyester. Usually the manufacturer will pack it in such a way that saves space for them, so they will have it in vacuumed package. It’s light and it’s not that space consuming! If you’re one of the people who can’t sleep well without guling like me, you won’t regret packing it to Holland! Caution: bring your own guling sleeves, pack a few extras as you won’t find it here.

My Indonesian friends who visited my room often commented in awe: “guling…. where did you get this?” Guess what, from IndonesiašŸ˜€ When I asked them the reason why they didn’t bring it, they often said that it’s not on “the list”. Well, “the list” that they meant was the list of things that we need to bring to Holland. You see, when a large group people got a scholarship to NL, they often make a mailing list for them to communicate things such as the departure preparation, meeting points in the airport, where to buy all the winter jackets. Here a lot of people also share their “to-bring list.”

Now that I’m here, I don’t think sharing the list is not that helpful… unless you are really forgetful. List of stuffs to bring is really personal, in the sense that it will be different from one person to another. Just like the way I decided to pack my guling, and others don’t. But sometimes especially if you’re so anxious about the departure, you’ll think that everything that’s on people’s list is also important for you. You want to bring them all, but guess what, you can’t! You need to prioritize based on your own needs. And a good way to avoid the anxiousness is to avoid reading people’s list!

So just make your own personalized to-bring list. And ignore me when I say, you should bring your guling with youšŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

